Arrested For DUI In King County? We Will Defend You.

Driving under the influence (DUI) comes with significant consequences in Washington. The criminal consequences can include jail time, probation and heavy fines — but it doesn't end there.

You will also face administrative consequences, such as a suspension of your driver's license or the requirement that you only operate a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device. Incredibly, even if your criminal charge is dismissed, you may yet suffer the administrative penalties.

At the Seattle law firm of JRC Practice, PLLC, our skilled DUI defense attorneys will work hard to combat all the effects of your charge or arrest. Our lawyers have experience with both alcohol-related and marijuana-related DUI charges. You can count on us to guide you through this and other traffic offenses with skill and compassion.

"Jesse is very well thought of and well respected in the legal community." — Endorsement from attorney David Jolly on

Understanding The Basic Process

Most DUIs begin with a stop for a traffic infraction, such as speeding or expired tabs. If an officer has reason to believe you have been drinking, he or she may begin asking questions and requesting that you perform certain tests. These tests are generally referred to as field sobriety tests and are voluntary, meaning you are not required to perform them.

If the officer has probable cause to believe you were under the influence of intoxicants or drugs, he or she may place you under arrest and transport you to the nearest police station to administer a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test. Whether you take this test or refuse it, you will face significant consequences.

A Second Or Third Offense Can Mean More Than A Month In Jail

If you have a "prior offense" on your record within the last seven years and you are convicted of DUI now, you will be required to serve 30 days in jail if:

  • No BAC test was offered
  • You took the test and the result was over .08 but less than .15

You are required to serve 45 days in jail if:

  • You took the test and your BAC was over .15
  • You refused to take the test

These penalties hold true even if your first DUI charge was reduced to reckless driving, negligent driving or another lesser charge. They also hold true even if you successfully completed a deferred prosecution program. This means it is critical that you get an attorney on your side who can fight to protect you from these harsh consequences.

License Suspension Sanctions

Depending on certain facts particular to your situation, a BAC result over .08 may result in a suspension of your license for 90 days. If you refuse to take the test, your license will likely be suspended for one year.

You have an opportunity to request a hearing to challenge the suspension of your license, but that request must be filed within 20 days and requires a nonrefundable $375 fee. What is most confusing is that the license suspension is an administrative process that is completely separate from the criminal charge. In fact, it is possible to have your DUI charge dismissed but still receive a license suspension.

Don't Wait — Get A Free Consultation With A Skilled Attorney

As you can imagine, it is imperative that your defense attorney be familiar with the nuanced web of DUI statutes and administrative restrictions. Our lawyers are intimately familiar with the complexities and legal issues surrounding DUI charges in Washington.

We will investigate whether law enforcement had probable cause to stop your vehicle, whether the search or seizure was conducted lawfully and whether certain pieces of evidence (such as field sobriety tests and breath tests) should be admitted or suppressed in court.

Set up your free consultation today by calling JRC Practice, PLLC, at 206-395-5952 or email our Seattle office.